Well, in Oregon anyway.
Beginning Wednesday, January 1st, it will be against the law to smoke in a car with children present in the state of Oregon. As it should be. It’s borderline child abuse.
The smoker faces a fine of $250 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent ones.
Sadly, however, police will not be able to pull over a vehicle simply because someone is smoking in a car with children present. They will first have to cite another violation, such as speeding, running a stop sign or changing a lane without proper notice.
Although some lawmakers objected to Oregon going too far to police personal conduct, Rep. Jim Thompson, R-Dallas, said the state is right to protect chlldren from second-hand smoke in such closed quarters.